New Reviewer

10,0000 for repairs

Purchased a 2009 Hybrid Silverado over a year ago, with 109,000 miles. “In theory” this is a brilliant design. If only the design as advertised warrants it’s Chevrolet name www.chevrolet.com. We have had some a series of repairs since purchase. Now the truck abruptly stop while driving. It's been taken, to GMC dealerships 4 times, with several repairs mounting into the thousands. Now the truck is still at the dealership with a repair cost of 10,000. Yes, you read correctly $10,000. Of course we were told the truck isn’t worth fixing. After looking at that repair estimate for a ASM module and ASM transmission, my technical brain got to working. How can a module go out? Here is the over view of Chevrolet's customer service. I called Chevrolet to see if we could get a resolution. After being insulted by the 2nd line manager. This manager, had the audacity to imply that I couldn’t afford the repairs, talk about a lack of empathy. Oh and he was dogmatic about it too. Transferred to the 3rd line manager. She was very polite. However, she went there, she boldly told me “NO”. She implied a couple of settle insults, "the quotes didn’t come from a GMC car dealership" "due to previous owners they have no idea what maintenance was performed" "due to the age of the truck and miles it's not covered under any warranty or for any assistance" I’m thinking what is she talking about. How can an average person perform maintenance on a module that connects to a transmission? Talk about insulting! Was told my case would be escalated. Today I’ve been told that Chevrolet is not responsible due this is a bumper to bumper issue. From my ignorant understanding doesn’t bumper to bumper mean maintenance. How can a module be covered under bumper to bumper? How is a consumer to supposed to maintenance a module? Of course Chevrolet thinks this is great customer service and stand by their product and decision.
View full review
ID
#1366780 Review #1366780 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
Product
2009 Chevrolet Silverado Truck
Reason of review
Pricing issue
Loss
$10000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Broken wave plate

We just had the same problem on our 2008 chevy Malibu we purchased used last year. Wave plate broke less than 3 months out of warranty but we were under the mileage. After weeks of dealing with GM they take no responsibility. My teenage daughter was driving the car...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1244988 Review #1244988 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
2008 Chevrolet Malibu Car
Cons
  • Gm refuses to recognize the problem
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$1505
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Chevy cruze is junk

Diaphram from the pvc tube assembly blew through intake and into the valve cover and the car didnt throw any lights until it was to late and all of it had to be replaced on my own dime. This happened september 20th of 2017. I also had the same problem july of 2016 only...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1106645 Review #1106645 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
2014 Chevrolet Cruze Car
Reason of review
Bad quality

Horrible Used Vehicle Experience

Purchased a used vehicle from Dimmitt Chevrolet, Clearwater. The vehicle had an issue, so it was brought it back in to address the problem. Not only did the service department refuse to take care of the issue, but all of the staff handling the issue were very disrespectful. The department manager was very degrading. As a first time customer at this dealership, there is no way I would recommend them to anyone. Consider this when you consider going for a used vehicle with them. Later discovered the "hidden charges" that put the vehicle over 6,000 above its actual value. It was recommended to purchase an extended warranty for the vehicle, and then verified that the issue was not covered by any warranty they could offer. Very unprofessional.
View full review
ID
#1070874 Review #1070874 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Clearwater, Florida
Service
Chevrolet Car Repair
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Chevrolet Cruze 2013

I usually buy new vehicles and keep them for 10 years or more. However, this Chevrolet Cruze will not last that long. This is the worst car I've ever owned. Vanity mirror fell off, tires had to be replaced less than 30,000 miles, steering gear and module had to be replaced at 60,000 miles, and now just over 60,000 miles the side sensors need to be replaced. WOW. You get all this in a new car that lasts only 30,000 miles before the wheels (tires actually) fall off. Contact my local dealership, Graff Davison, for a list of all the repairs. The bad experiences with this vehicle has soured me on ever owning another GM vehicle again. If you are thinking of buying a new GM vehicle use extreme caution.
View full review
ID
#1032302 Review #1032302 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
2013 Chevrolet Cruze Car
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$3000
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

2009 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Hd Car Review

Chevrolet - Simple Review #1488854760
Unsafe 2016 Silverado 2500hd duramax, major steering issues,unsafe untrustworthy,repaired 3 time in 7 months
View full review
ID
#1017634 Review #1017634 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
2009 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Hd Car
Reason of review
Bad quality

New 2016 mylink radio not as advertised

Chevrolet - New 2016 mylink radio not as advertised
This purchase makes my 4th purchase of a Chevy Camaro. I have had the 2010, 2012, 2014, and now I have the 2016. I purchased it in April 2016. While looking over the features of my radio, I have noticed it is poorly made and the features advertised arenoton myradio. I contacted Chevy and wS told my radio model is not compatible to the advertised features. Chevy only offers two radios for the 2016 Camaro 7" or 8". There are only a few differences in the two, from what is shown on their website. I am so pissed right now. I want my radio to work as advertised. I did not upgrade a car to get less than what I had on my previous car, that was a 2 year older car. That turns out to have way better features than this 2016, both cars are RS style. I feel some one forgot to install what should have been installed at the factory.
View full review
ID
#1012538 Review #1012538 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
2016 Chevrolet Camaro Car
Pros
  • Dealership
Cons
  • False advertising
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$1950
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Chevrolet - Customer Care Review

Own a 2015 Malibu & 2010 Traverse (two Chevy household). Been a customer for most of my life...no more. My traverse needs a timing chain replacement after 70k miles, the SUV currently shuts off due to issue. Despite this being a known issue corrected in subsequent years, Chevy refuses to partner on the repair (after multiple recalls). It's sad, all these years and vehicles, and despite this known issue...zero accountability. Merry Christmas
View full review
ID
#971978 Review #971978 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Chevrolet Customer Care
Reason of review
Poor customer service
New Reviewer

2013 Chevrolet Malibu Review

Update by user Dec 18, 2016

So here we are the weekend before Christmas, and my car is AGAIN in the shop. It has been exactly 24 days since it was in the shop last time.

The check engine light is again on but this time it is sputtering, I had the dealership print out everything that they have on the vehicle. I have proof that I have maintained this vehicle, and that it continues to fall apart. Did I mention it is a 2013, and since 4/28/15 it has been in the shop 5 times, this one is number 6. I have contacted Chevrolet to see what can be done, and last time it was in the shop (11/23/16) they did pay half the repair cost of $200, but I'm looking for a long term solution.

I was promptly told no, and they cannot give me any reason as to why, when clearly the car is a piece of ***!!!!!!

Here are the service dates:

1) 4/28/15- Rear Right Wheel Hub Assembly & Sunroof Compliance issue (recall)

2) 2/15/16- Heater issue (recall) & Rear Window replaced (defroster stopped working)

3) 5/27/16- Right Rear Caliper, right rotor machined left rotor and brakes

4) 6/02/16- Camshaft Solenoid replaced 5) 11/23/16- Coolant hoses replaced 6) 12/17/16- Unknown??

Original review posted by user Dec 06, 2016
Awful......ive been trying to get an issue resolved since Nov 23rd...i get the runaround or the "it takes a few days to attach to your case file!" Thats a load of ***....poor follow up, and poor resolution.
View full review
1 comment
#1250698

This product is rubbish, I am so mad that I was conned into buying this useless piece of machinery

It didn`t remove one hair from my body and I sent it back and asked for my money back, to which there was no refund but a replacement sent to me ...which (you guessed it) It was the same as the first one absolute rubbish. Please dont waste your well earned money on this product . There should also be a law about these false goods implemented.

ID
#967746 Review #967746 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Chevrolet Customer Care
Reason of review
Poor customer service

2011 Chevrolet - Cruze Car Review

I have never spend so much time and money fixing a car that had less than 60 thousand miles on it. I will never buy another Chevy make car ever again
View full review
1 comment
#1250696

Same situation here.....less than 50,000 and been in the shop more times than I can count. I continue to contact customer care with no resolution....they say I'll be contacted and the repc.never does.....never will I buy a Chevy either...they are very poorly made, and with the customer service being less than par, it makes it a useless investment.

ID
#954461 Review #954461 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
2011 Chevrolet Cruze Car
Reason of review
Bad quality
New Reviewer

2016 chevrolet sonic warranty problem

in mid-august I bought a new 2016 Chevrolet sonic. on oct. 13 the power steering stopped working. I immediately took it to the dealership and they adjusted a connection and pronounced it fixed. the next day the steering was out again. I took it back to the dealership and they told me they needed a special electronic part that had to be specially made because there are none in the US. I called the chevy complaint department the next week to make sure they knew about the problem. after 2 weeks of no action and no explanations I started calling the complaint department again. since then I've been bounced around from one rep to another. supposedly now I'm being referred to a "Senior advisor" who will get in touch with me. on top of that, the dealership called Friday and told me the car was fixed. I left work early and rushed right over. as they were reprogramming the ignition key one of the mechanics came out and told me it wasn't fixed after all. then I learned that they weren't waiting on a part - they had been going through a checklist of repairs provided by gm. I no longer have any faith that anyone in that organization is telling me the truth or has any intention of honoring the warranty to be clear - this is a brand new car. I owned it for 2 months. it has less than 2,000 miles on it. this car has been well kept and not subjected to any sort of hard use. this is clearly a manufacturer's defect and should be covered. this car has sat in the dealer's parking lot for 3 weeks and not repaired. both the dealer and Chevrolet are well aware of the problem.
View full review
2 comments
#1236888

Did the dealer provide you with a "loaner" car? If so, then you are fine and can drive that car until they fix yours.

If they didn't provide a loaner, then immediately demand one---a loaner is standard procedure.

The Sonic is a very cheap vehicle both to buy and make. It should work ok around town once it is fixed, altho I would dump it once you get close to the warranty expiration period or you may find yourself with big bucks to have it fixed once out of warranty.

#1776965
@Machele Imf

Sonic is the best Chevy I ever owned. I use to have a 69 camero rs 396 4 sped that was slower than my Sonic.

I'm not makin nothing up hear.

My Sonic can beat a big old V8 0-60 ! The sonic is a rocket and it handles great can do everything way better than my old camero.

View more comments (1)
ID
#949833 Review #949833 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Spencer, Indiana
Product
2016 Chevrolet Sonic Car
Cons
  • Customer service and poor product quality
  • Extremely poor warranty service
  • Car has been in the shop constantly since ive owned it
Reason of review
all of the above
Loss
$17000
Preferred solution
i no longer trust this car. it apparently has some electrical defect they can't track down. either replace the car or refund my money
New Reviewer

2006 Chevrolet - Hhr Car Review from Portland, Texas

2006 Chevrolet - Hhr Car Review from Portland, Texas
I'm having continuous problems with my 2006 Chevy HHR, purchase in August 2015 from Sunrise Buick at Covington Pike in Memphis Tennessee. At the time of purchase I was told it was a reliable car even though the mileage was 142 890. I now realize that I bought a terrible problematic defective product. I began to have problems a month after purchase with mechanical breakdown in Nashville Tennessee; car was towed to Carl Black, alternator was replaced. Beginning in January to date, car has been in for repairs numerous occasions (3 times in May car had same issues for power steering, ABS, low fuel, check engine light indicators). Car needed repairs in June, July and on three occasions this August. I'm also being told that a lemon law does not apply so I filed a complaint with BBB West Tennessee. I regret ever purchasing the car since it seems like mechanics are not equipped to fix recurring problems with the car. I would like to know is there any legal recourse for me being sold defective car that is currently being financed through Credit Acceptance Corp. The car looks good but performs badly.
View full review
1 comment
#1207646

I have the same problem My car is a 2010 I bought it 2012. It was working on at first. But since 2013 I been having problem with the steering wheel, passenger door handle broke out of no where, the ABS sensor,light keep coming on, and just recently about three week ago the driver size of the door handle broken and my seat adjustment is starting to mess up I know it a default going around and it a law suit investigation on GM HHR and the dealer's I was with was future Ford and nobody didn't inform me that my car had multiple default

ID
#911717 Review #911717 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Portland, Texas
Product
2006 Chevrolet Hhr Car
Reason of review
Bad quality

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Bad Service

Bad experience of Service at MALHOTRA CHEVROLET - GUWAHATI Malhotra Chevrolet utkarsh.sales@***.com I took my Beat (D) for servicing to Malhotra Chevrolet ( Utkarsh Mototech Pvt Ltd.) at 8.45 am on 04/05/2016 and surprised by the dealer’s unprofessional attitude. 1. My vehicle was marked 5th in serial registration number, and service advisor’s started putting on vehicle registering hap haphazardly, keeping me waiting up to 4.30 PM finally when my car got a chance to enter the workshop. This way I lost my entire day unnecessarily. My complaints fell on deaf ears and nobody in charge, had the minimum curtsy to say sorry. 2. The works in charge people at reception and workshop engineers are incompetent, unprofessional and arrogant and they do not even bother to inspect a vehicle before taking in. Neither I saw the common practise of all other car companies before taking a car in, like note down of fuel gauge, different extra fittings or personal materials inside. 3. The work site of the service station is unbelievably filthy, and it is surprising that a Big company like Chevrolet has allowed to keep it going without an inspection. 4. Hereby I warn all the readers to think twice before buying a Chevrolet car at Guwahati , specially from Malhotra Chevrolet dealer. From : DEBAJYOTI DAS Copy to : 1. General Motors 2. Consumer Complaints-Indian Consumer complaint forum 3. Chevrolet India
View full review
ID
#842633 Review #842633 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Guwahati, Assam
Service
Chevrolet Customer Care
Cons
  • Bad after sales service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Dealership service department fraud

We own a 2010 chevy traverse. At 90,000 miles we had issues with the timing chain, head gasket etc and it was replaced under warranty by the dealership. That was a year ago. Our car now has 115,000 miles and we experienced problems with the engine. We found out it was the timing chain again. I called the dealership that did the work previously and they were extremely rude to my husband and I. They told us that there were 15 codes and that it was going to cost approximately 5500.00 to fix and they didn't think that would solve all of the issues so we might as well put a new engine in for 7000.00. After I called GM customer relations, the dealership said they would pay 3400. and we would have to pay the rest. We took it to another dealership for a second opinion. The regional manager got involved and said we had to go back to the first dealership. I absolutely refused to do any business with them. I found out a friend of mine works for a different chevy dealership and he agreed to look at the car. They are now fixing the car for 2200.00. Although I am glad we are getting it fixed, I don't think we should have had to put all of this money out. I find it odd that at timing chain went bad again in less than 20,000 miles. I am also extremely angry at the way the first dealership and the regional manager treated us. I will never do business with them again.
View full review
ID
#829106 Review #829106 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Auburn, New York
Product
2010 Chevrolet Traverse Car
Cons
  • Dealership
  • Dont care about customers
  • Poor quality of repair
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$2200
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Chevy Equinox Stabilitrak

I bought two 2012 chevy equinoxes. I was a very satisfied chevy owner until recently. Approximately two months ago my son in-law was driving one of our equinoxes and suddenly the dash started flashing stating the stabilitrak needed to be serviced. We brought it into...
View full review
View full review
3 comments
#1142767

Sounds like your kids need to learn how to drive.

The Stabilitrack light will come on when the vehicle is slipping or sliding and the system tries to regain control.

Even if it was off, there's no reason for there to be an accident. If your children are driving beyond the traction of your tires, no electronic assist will fix that.

View more comments
ID
#818037 Review #818037 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Product
Chevrolet Car
Cons
  • Defective stabilitrak
Reason of review
Bad quality